The Australasian Osteopathic Accreditation Council (AOAC) is the accreditation authority responsible for accrediting education providers and programs of study for the osteopathy profession.  Programs are assessed against accreditation standards and programs that meet the standards receive accreditation. 


The accreditation standards define the knowledge, skills and professional attributes expected on graduation, and in broad terms how education and training should be provided.


Accredited Standards


Accredited Programs of Study

The Health Practitioner Regulation Law Act 2009 (National Law) requires that a program of study is both accredited by AOAC and subsequently approved by the Osteopathy Board of Australia before it can be accepted as a qualification suitable for the purpose of registration as an osteopath.


Education Provider Program Accreditation Status Accreditation Expiry Date
RMIT University Bachelor of Health Science/Bachelor of Applied Science (Osteopathy) Accredited 31 December 2018
Southern Cross University Bachelor of Clinical Science (Double Major in Osteopathic Studies and Human Structure and Function)/Master of Osteopathic Medicine Accredited 31 December 2021
Southern Cross University Bachelor of Clinical Sciences (Osteopathic Studies)/Master of Osteopathic Medicine Accredited 31 December 2018
Victoria University Bachelor of Science (Clinical Sciences)/Master of Health Science (Osteopathy) Accredited 31 December 2019
Victoria University Bachelor of Science (Osteopathy)/Master of Health Science (Osteopathy) Accredited  31 December 2020


Accreditation Assessors

The AOAC continues to seek expressions of interest from osteopaths to be part of the schedule of accreditation assessors.


You will be part of the accreditation assessment team examining the curricula for osteopaths in Australia.

If you feel you can contribute to this important role within your profession please contact the Executive Officer.